"edit an existing estimate" button closes Alliance

Where to go when the system has problems
Post Reply
User avatar
John Whitling
All knowing
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:14 pm

"edit an existing estimate" button closes Alliance

Post by John Whitling » Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:44 pm

SEE POSTINGS BELOW FOR MORE RECENT CAUSES .. perhaps even work from the bottom up

What follows is from 2007 when Microsoft Office Groove created this issue ..
It also does this if you go to File|Open, etc. This was a toughy to figure out. If you have MS Office 2007 Professional installed with Groove (a minor add on application in the suite) you might have this problem. Also some users that "upgraded" their PC from XP to Vista may have this problem too.

To TRULY fix this problem you'll most likely have to uninstall Groove. To do that go to the control panel|Programs and Features|Microsoft Office 2007 and then click on features. Disable Groove and then click OK. You will likely have to restart afterwards. But you can also try this registry edit ..

For those brave enough to edit the registry go to this key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\ShellIcons.. (it may have a longer name than this in your PC but it will start with shellicons)

Then just delete the Shell Icons key or rename it and the problems will go away. All of your Office applications will work fine too.

BTW, this problem is something that MS is aware of and affects many applications. I imagine MS will take care of this problem is service pack 2 for Office 2007, when ever they release it.

User avatar
John Whitling
All knowing
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:14 pm

Re: "edit an existing estimate" button closes Alliance

Post by John Whitling » Wed Nov 11, 2015 8:50 am

It has been MANY years since this problem has occurred but it seems to have raised it's ugly head again.

Autodesk has a good knowledge base article on this kind of problem at the link below and lists specific problem applications that have been known to create this problem.
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/ ... Revit.html

There is some evidence of a Window update that might cause this problem as well. Please go to Control Panel|Programs and Features and look for Microsoft Update KB3055034. This particular update seems related to file handling issues with Office 365.

If you have this update please uninstall it and then reboot. Does the crashing on "edit an existing estimate" or file open/save as go away?

Please let me know what you find, either by replying here or emailing John.Whitling at alliancemillsoft.com.

BTW, this info comes from this thread and is still not fully verified.
http://superuser.com/questions/986693/e ... office-365
Thanks for participating!

User avatar
John Whitling
All knowing
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:14 pm

Re: "edit an existing estimate" button closes Alliance

Post by John Whitling » Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:55 pm

Here is a link that details how to use a couple of utilities that will give you control over Windows shell extensions. They are free downloads and they allow you to control your "shell extensions", which is what is causing your problem.

You can disable certain shell extensions and see if that fixes your crashing. Here is a great article that introduces you to what shell extensions are and how various ways to deal with them. It is somewhat techie so if it's written above your pay grade forward this to your system administrator and let him chase down the problem.

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows- ... text-menu/

The links to the actual utilities are below ..
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/shell_menu_view.html
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/shexview.html

Probably the easiest way to use this tool is to look at the File Created Date column to see recent changes. Disable the suspect items and check to see if your problem is fixed. If the problem still persists go to options and select to show 32 bit extensions. In one case we found another complete set of extensions and once we disabled them the problem was sorted. That was on a Windows 7 32 bit operating system, BTW.

IMPORTANT UPDATE on April 21, 2016 .. We found an instance where a startup program was creating the problem and that program is NOT listed in the utilities listed above. It is Microsoft OneDrive and OneDrive for Business context menus. As the name implies it adds OneDrive options to the context menu in Windows Explorer. To disable that, which does NOT interfere with OneDrive itself, you need a startup manager program. If however, you do not use OneDrive, Microsoft's cloud based file storage, uninstalling OneDrive from Windows 7 fixes the problem. It requires a restart.

There are numerous free utilities out there to edit Windows startup options and here is a good link to a review of a few of the better ones ..
http://www.techsupportalert.com/best-fr ... anager.htm

Here is a link to the one I prefer, though it's a bit techie ..
https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sys ... 63902.aspx

The first thing to look for is Microsoft OneDrive and OneDrive for Business context menus

If you're wrestling with this problem please let us know what you find. We are always interested in learning what the offending application was.
Thanks for participating!

User avatar
John Whitling
All knowing
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:14 pm

Re: "edit an existing estimate" button closes Alliance

Post by John Whitling » Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:42 pm

In the post above I laid out adjustments that you can make to your system to continue using Microsoft OneDrive with The Assistant.

However, Microsoft often installs OneDrive automatically during Microsoft Office installations. Hence there may be users that have OneDrive installed but are not using the service. In cases like that the easiest way to fix this issue is to go the Control Panel, Programs and Features, find Microsoft OneDrive, and uninstall it.
Thanks for participating!

User avatar
John Whitling
All knowing
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:14 pm

Re: "edit an existing estimate" button closes Alliance

Post by John Whitling » Thu Jan 12, 2017 2:34 pm

It is Thursday January 12, 2017 and we've received reports of a new update to Dropbox that is creating this problem. Nice!

Anyways, the procedures for fixing this issue are pretty much as noted above. Here is a copy/paste from the Dropbox support forum ..

For Windows:

- Download ShellExView and run it. Sort entries alphabetically by description and disable "ContextMenuHandler Class" and "DropboxExt CopyHook Class".

- If you don't want to see the status icons on files and folders you should also disable "DropboxExt1" through "DropboxExt8".

- Kill explorer.exe and restart it from Task Manager: File -> Run new task -> type in explorer and press OK

MY NOTE: If you are using a 64 bit version of Windows make sure that you check for 32 bit shell extensions as well as 64 bit shell extensions.

2:25 pm UPDATE : It appears that this info from Dropbox, above, is for the old version. The new version seems to have files named dropboxExt.8.0.dll and DropboxExt64.8.0.dll. There may be more as well. The key is to check the normal files (32 bit) and the 64 bit files if you have a 64 bit version of Windows. Many laptops are 64 bit.

1/18/2017 UPDATE: Some users have found that uninstalling dropbox and then installing a non current version, available from the Dropbox site takes care of this problem and is likely to be easier, as long as it is not automatically upgraded.
Thanks for participating!

Post Reply